The Welcoming Prayer

My daughter gave me a copy of this prayer last week. I have found it so helpful. I’ve realized as I ponder this how often I struggle to accept reality. I have such a strong sense of how things should be. How I should feel, or act. How other’s should feel or act.  I don’t listen to the moment, the person, or God. Instead I just project what I want to be true onto others, and struggle with myself and others instead of having a gentle acceptance. Grace brings freedom: freedom to fully accept the truth in myself, other’s the world around me. I am free because it is all okay; because a perfect God whose love for me is boundless is in complete control. Image

Welcome, welcome, welcome. 

I welcome everything that comes to me in this moment because I know it is for my healing.
I welcome all thoughts, feelings, emotions, persons, situations and conditions.
I let go of my desire for security.
I let go of my desire for approval.
I let go of my desire for control.
I let go of my desire to change any situation, condition, person, or myself.
I open to the love and presence of God and the healing action and grace within.

––– Mary Mrozowski 1925-1993

Leave a Reply

